vintage chic ~~ classic coach makeover

It is no secret around here that I adore vintage, classic Coach handbags–especially the Willis style (for immediate memory joggers, click HERE or HERE).  The Coach Willis is my go-to bag.  If I could own only one handbag (gasp!), she’s the one.

Naturally, I flit about on Etsy and Ebay looking for amazing deals on a Classic Coach.  I have been able to score my mom a couple of great looking Coach City bags at a fraction of what they would cost new–yet, they look new.  Whenever I buy a gently used vintage Coach, I enjoy getting it cleaned up with my Coach brand leather conditioner.  I like the process of putting some love and life back into my “new-to-me” bag.  I thought I was doing a really good job of it too until I found this store on Etsy:

Gutsy Girls

Warning:  If you click on the above link, you may just buy a bag because her bags are beautiful and very fairly priced.  Where else can you get a genuine alligator/crocodile bag for $53.55 (no lie)?

Anyhoo.  I was perusing her fine stuffs one day and I couldn’t help but notice how much shinier and healthier most of her vintage Coach bags looked in comparison to my own.  I decided to ask her to share her secret.

Debbie, the shop’s owner, was both flattered and forthcoming with this valuable piece of information.  Someone had in fact told her about the magic of Lexol leather products and she passed on the information to me.  I found a cleaning set on Amazon (cleaner, conditioner, cloths/buffer) for about (or less?) than what I have paid for Coach’s brand.  Here are my results as shown on my recently acquired Mahogany Coach Willis (because, shockingly, I did not already own a dark brown bag…sorry, justifying):

coachbefore

BEFORE

The above photo was taken BEFORE I used Lexol but after I had already spiffied it up with Coach conditioner.

coachafter

AFTER

Even though the difference isn’t remarkably seen from these iPod photos, the AFTER has a healthier glow to it.  And if you need further proof take a peek at these:

coachclean

Quite a bit of dirt came off the bag with the Lexol products.  I am happier knowing this since we women know what germ and dirt magnets our handbags are.  Gross.

If you are looking to take care of your leather goods, I highly recommend trying Lexol.  I am not saying that Coach’s conditioner isn’t a good product, but I do like the results I have had from Lexol better.

I hope everyone is surviving the recent blasts of winter weather.  We got rather iced up over night.  Our driveway is a skating rink.  I knew this when I took my dog out but still fell (hard) on my arse anyway.  And then I couldn’t get back up because it was too icy so I had to slide on my knees over to the patio.  Seriously.  Where are the cameras when I need them?

~~Heather~~

4 thoughts on “vintage chic ~~ classic coach makeover

  1. hmmmm, didn’t hear your cries for help this morning. Oh, yeah, that’s because I stayed inside while Augie went slip-slidin’ away out the back door.
    You know me – I have nothing to add to your “bag improvement” blog since we both know I only carry 2 per year; one for the summer and one for the winter.
    Drives ya nuts, doesn’t it?

    Like

  2. This is a great, informative post for Coach collectors! I, however, am right up there with Ellen in that I’m still stuck on the Alviero bag. We are probably not the kind of people you want commenting on your blog. Or maybe you do. : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

