vintage ~~ an antique automobile afternoon

This week Western Michigan exploded in a profusion of amazing color.  PEAK had arrived!  And I was ready:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have been carrying my camera with me at all times…always ready for that perfect photo-op.  I have developed a new system in which carrying my camera has become easier for me to do…more on that in a future post.  In any case, this Fall has been a rather beautiful one.  I had my doubts about it for a minute…but I was never more happy to be proven wrong.

One of the fun events I wanted to do this Fall with my dear husband was visit the Gilmore Car Museum.  It had been a while since our last time there and I thought the grounds would be fun to explore with beautiful Fall color as the back drop.  Driving over to the museum also provided the opportunity for a mini color tour.  Richland Township is known for some splendid drives this time of year:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We arrived to the museum in the mid afternoon.  I was shocked by how much the landscape aesthetic had changed.  New buildings/exhibits have emerged from the field.  Gilmore Car Museum is definitely a testimony to the old adage, “build it and they will come”*.  Because come they have–people from around the world have visited this re-purposed corn field to see a dazzling collection of vintage automobiles.

I love how the Gilmore Car Museum is keeping a retro atmosphere.  The cars have been housed in meticulous kept barns (HUGE barns) but the new exhibits were built to replicate old dealerships:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also on premises is a vintage Shell Station:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and a restored Diner Car (originally from Connecticut) where we enjoyed a light lunch:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The cars are absolutely amazing.  Would I ever be able to pick a favorite?  I didn’t think so until I saw this one–at the end of our tour:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before finding this incredible Mercedes, which also owns a very unique story, I kind of fell in love with this one:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you will notice, I tend to be drawn to silver/pewter patina on cars.  I noticed.  There were many other incredible colors on cars but the silver metallic just kind of did it for me. See what I mean?:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But guess what they don’t have?  A 1955 (or ’56) Dodge La Femme.  I thought if there would be one anywhere it would be here.  I voiced my concerns to someone wearing an official shirt so we shall see what happens.  Ummm, for the record, he had never heard of a Dodge La Femme.  I added that obtaining one wouldn’t really mean a lot unless it came with the whole package…Evans leather handbag with accessories, umbrella, and rain hat. I got a polite nod and smile but no promises.   Work with me, people!

And I found my next house:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I could so do it…simple living in style!

We had a great time visiting this countryside gem of a museum.  If you are a car enthusiast, I highly recommend a visit.  My next post will share a totally different aspect of the museum.

Enjoy your day!

~~Heather~~

*from the movie “Field of Dreams”

8 thoughts on “vintage ~~ an antique automobile afternoon

  1. 🙂 Oh, my goodness, I am in love with your fall colors! the mixture of orange, red, yellow and green. stunning!
    I don’t have to tell you that I envy your for your afternoon in the car museum, do I? Beautiful – all of them. And yes, the camper van is incredible, too!
    Have a very HAPPY week xo 🙂

    Like

  2. What beautiful fall color shots! I love looking at vintage and special edition cars and this museum looks like a treasure. Our art museum has had a couple of exhibits of special edition antique cars that were really interesting and amazing.

    Like

  3. I missed this post!!!!! I guess I have to sign up with this new blog? So sorry …. I LOVE old cars and I’d love to see this place – your photos are fantastic, especially the second one. Good job with posting-when-you-feel-like-it … this is fascinating! Thanks! : )

    Like

  4. Pingback: vintage chic ~~ fashion and famine | chez bliss

Leave a Reply

