vintage french chic ~~ still alive

Here I am.

Alive.

Sort of.

Let me tell ‘ya—I am so HAPPY May is over.  April and May.  Although our weather has been glorious the past couple of weeks, leading up to that time had been the WORST.  It was a cold and nasty Spring.  The leaves on the trees were freaked out of their minds and refused to make a showing until we were well into May.  I never remember seeing bare trees so far into the month.  While we may have had no leaves for much of May, we were not, however, in short supply of sprouting maple trees everywhere.  Thousands of them.  MILLIONS.

I have pulled so many trees out it is ridiculous and there are so many more to go.  Everyone has complained about this infestation.  If they sprout in the yard, no big deal–just mow them down.  But 3/4ths of our “yard” is landscaped/gardens (thanks to the previous owners).  Even though I was tempted to mow everything down and start over I haven’t (yet).  The front garden is done and most of the area off our back patio but that’s less than half of what still needs tackled.

Have I mentioned that I hate gardening?

I did hire some help for the initial Spring cleaning of all the beds but those #$@* trees took over as soon as the dead leaves were gone.  The gardener hasn’t come back either.  Go figure.  That left me to start yanking (and muttering, and killing my back, and making up songs in my head) the little beasts out.   Grrr.  I think it may all be done by Fall.  Maybe.

In good news and pretty things…the tulips were splendid!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to Windmill Island in Holland for a visit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The birds have frolicked away in my bird bath.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Sharing seems to be an issue)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And May is over!  So that means June is here…and the pool is open. Not our own pool, mind you, but rather the private one we join in the summer.  I love going over there in the mornings for a little exercise and sun.  Usually I am there alone–so peaceful.  It has also been a great way for me to boost my Vitamin D– of which I have been sadly deficient .

I guess the blogging break is officially over too.  I’m back but I can’t make any promises about regularity.  I think I can say my posts will be sporadic at best.  While June is (hopefully) going to be quiet and relaxed, that all changes again in July.  It’s going to be a great summer!

How about you?  Any great summer plans coming your way?

~~Heather~~

P.S.  Welcome new subscribers!  Thank you for stopping by.

33 thoughts on “vintage french chic ~~ still alive

  1. Lovely tulips! My Mom has a birdbath in her backyard and the birds line up and wait if there’s one bathing in it. So cute! Our fam is moving back to the UK in two weeks, that’s our news! Enjoy your summer, Heather! Xo

    Like

    • Leaving France?! NOOOO!! I imagine you must have really good reason. And living in the UK would be wonderful too. Hope all goes well with your move. Looking forward to hearing about it. : ) xo

      Like

    • Well, I hope you can do so! We will be doing some ourselves in July and we are looking forward to it. xo, H

      Like

  2. Welcome back! Aren’t birds funny? I watch them fight over the hummingbird feeder from my kitchen window. Great photos of the birds bathing and of course the gorgeous tulips are magnificent, especially with you and Rockefeller in the foreground.

    Like

    • I love the birdies! I am jealous you have hummingbirds. I put a feeder out in April and I have seen only one hummer–once. I am also trying to draw in the orioles but nothing yet. I think it maybe living in town has something to do with the lack of birds. Thank you for your lovely comments and coming around for a visit. xo H

      Like

  3. I feel your pain! I’ve been doing a lot of weeding too but the flowers are starting to look fabulous and that is (somewhat) of a reward. Love the picture of you and Rockefeller with the tulips.

    Like

    • Thanks, Juhli. I am happy you are seeing the fruits of your labor. We were hoping to go to Chicao this Friday but we are now seriously thinking about staying home and making it a yard day. How depressing is that? Just want it done! Been thinking about you over the past few weeks. xo H

      Like

  4. Ah, those flower photographs are so lovely… And it’s wonderful to see your pretty face too! I’m so glad that June’s here and we can all put this spring behind us. Big hug, Janice

    Like

    • Thank you, Janice. Yes, you can appreciate my sentiments about Spring. I feel like everything is behind because of how long Spring took to get here. We were going to go to Chicago Friday but may hold off so we can do more work around here. It is hard to buy out the time sometimes. Chicago will have to wait.
      xo, H

      Like

  5. Welsome back from your hiatus. I love the pics of the tulips and the birds. It really is looking like Spring! I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

    Like

    • Merci! I love having that bird bath…so fun to watch the shananigans that go on out there. I have feeders up but they aren’t drawing as much action as I would like to see. xo, H

      Like

  6. Beautiful photos of tulips! The photo of birds the one looked like he broke his neck. We love watching them bathe!

    Sent from my NOOK

    Like

  7. Welcome back!!! I was so happy to see your post come in my email! Regularity is what you want it to be, I’m just glad you’re here. Tulips are gorgeous. So sorry about that horrible winter. CA had been unseasonably mild so we will be slammed with wild fires this summer.
    We have a few summer plans in the works, but nothing concrete yet. xoJennifer

    Like

    • You are too too sweet. Happy to know I was missed. I remember reading (from you or Adrienne) about how dry California has been. I do fear for your summer. I hope you get some good rain showers–soon! Thank you for stopping in today. xo H

      Like

    • My back is better but not perfect. I am very careful these days–I want to have a great summer so my back must cooperate! Good to hear from you, ma chere! xo H

      Like

    • Haha! I meant to tell you I gave you the censored version of that song. Teehee. Thank you for the compliment on the photos! I would love to see some from you again–hint, hint, wink, nudge. Btw, I checked out your book–I can’t afford it right now. Tell me when it’s on clearance!! xo H

      Like

    • Thank you for the compliment on the tulips…they really are such a pretty flower. I planted some annuals yesterday and told my husband I really don’t mind that part of gardening. Now if they could only take care of themselves for the rest of the season. : )

      Like

  8. Welcome back! I’ve been to Holland, MI once or twice, beautiful tulips! I also hate gardening — love the flowers, not the work! We are heading over to Traverse City area for a vacation though I don’t expect our normally cold lakes to be any warmer than usual! it will be nice to lounge lakeside though.

    Like

    • Ooooh! Have a great time in TC–I haven’t been up that way in years. Such a beautiful area of Michigan…love Sleeping Bear Dunes. And I am happy to know that I am not alone in the hate gardening department. ; )

      Like

    • haha! I have been reading about your trip but I think I have two more days to read. I did see the Pickle Street post though…so cute!

      Like

Leave a Reply

