photography ~~ spring cometh (somewhere…but not here)

Let’s start this “celebration of Spring” post with this reminder of Spring 2012:

012

011

Yes, it was unseasonably warm this time last year.  And while it was beautiful, it was detrimental to many farm crops in our area.  I believe 80-90% of the fruit crops were lost due to early blooming followed by hard frosts.  But it was great weather to have while our Florida Snowbird Neighbors were gone so I could give them grief about missing such a glorious March.  And yet, it didn’t stop them from returning to the Sunshine State again this year.  Rightly so because this time they are missing “butt cold” wind and snow.  Our first day of Spring came with a “snow advisory” lasting through much of today.  The seven days forecast doesn’t look much better….not more snow but it will continue to be cold.  Uugh.  I wish I could say that I had complete insouciance (word of the day from dictionary.com!) regarding this state of affairs…but I don’t.  I do care because I am so ready for warmth and flowers and I am dying to see my first robin.

Life goes on, right?  I still have to live in this dismal mess.  And I still have to walk the dog.  The lack of interest in doing this  in the sub-zero temps is overwhelming.  I managed to drag him around three blocks yesterday but I knew he needed more exercise.  Enter the Florida Snowbird Neighbors again.  Ellen kindly offered that I could throw Rockefeller in their fenced in back yard to play while they were gone.  That is exactly what we did yesterday.  Here’s Rockefeller’s account of the time spent there:

“Ahhh!  The feeling of being leash-free!”

002

“The freedom to establish new, unadulterated territory!”

005

“To go where no dog has dared gone before…”

007

“To brave the wilderness just as my kinsdogs did before me…”

011

“To conquer steep mountains…”

014

“To…to…”

“Hey Rockefeller, are you ready to go home?”

015

“Not yet, Mom.  I still have some territory to discover…”

016

“….and my face to bury in the snow because I can.”

017

“But I think that about covers it…yes, I think I am ready.”

018

“LET’S GO!”

019

“Thanks, Pete and Ellen.  I had fun in “the Maze”.  Smell your butt soon, Augie!”

Have a great Spring whatever, peeps!

~~Heather~~

&

~~Rockefeller~~

25 thoughts on “photography ~~ spring cometh (somewhere…but not here)

  1. Rockefeller had a good romp in the snow! He is such a handsome boy. There is new boarding/training/daycare/spa place going in down the road from us called Barkefellers. I think of your sweet dog whenever we drive past.

    Like

  2. Oh he is too cute! Look at his beautiful little face and snowy nose. Mine loves romping around the garden in the snow – it’s the only time I let him off the leash. Hasn’t Rockefeller got a super-fluffy tail? Mine had the pleasure of the groomer yesterday and I hardly recognise him! But this weather, this endless winter is depressing the Hell out of me. Thank God for our dogs!

    Like

    • I really would love to fence in our back yard so he could romp around leash free. We have talked about it…so we shall see. Rockefeller is to be groomed one week from tomorrow. And not a day too soon. He’s quite the little stinker dog. All this wet walking outside is taking its toll.

      Like

  3. He is so cute and I love you illustrated story of his adventures. We had 75 degree weather on Saturday and 31 when I got up this morning! No snow in Atlanta though.

    Like

    • Be thankful for no snow! But that is still quite the temperature change. I would just love for it to hit 50 and hold around here for a nice warm change.

      Like

  4. That is great that your neighbor lets Rocky have some freedom. Love the snow on his face. You can tell he is having a goood time but he is looking for his mom. My walk last week I saw lots of Robins, so they are back. Please define insouciance good scrabble word. “Barkefellas” how cute is that!!!!! I’m taking Rockefella to Barkefellas. Ha Rockefella is so cute and so happy that you adopted him. What a life!!!

    Like

    • I really want to fence our back yard in now too. It is so nice to let him play off leash. Thanks again for letting us use it!

      Like

  5. Rockefeller is so cute. I have one lousy crocus in my front garden – One! There are loads elsewhere, but it was sleeting yesterday, so I can’t say spring is doing such a great job here.

    Like

    • Hey! Enjoy the crocus. I would love to have one right now. However, you weather doesn’t sound much better than ours. Sad, sad, sad.

      Like

    • Why does Spring seem so delayed this year? I think it would help to have sun more than we have had. Hang in there!

      Like

  6. No Spring here either (a foot of snow on Tuesday) but this post made me laugh out loud. LOVE the photos and captions! On what has been a very depressing day, thank you for making me forget for a few minutes with your wonderful sense of humor. 🙂

    Like

    • EEEK GADS!! A foot of snow??? I would be depressed too. I am happy that Rockefeller and my camera could cheer you up a bit. We can be quite crackers around here. : )

      Like

  7. Pingback: photography ~~ future tense (weekly photo challenge) | vintage french chic

Leave a Reply

