chic ~~ wardrobe (and hair) wake-up

I don’t know about you but I am getting pretty antsy for Spring to arrive.  And while I don’t necessarily want to go shopping for a bunch of new (or used) stuff, I do want to find ways to add some punch to my wardrobe this season.   The plan:  to shop my closet and perhaps add one or two core pieces and new accessories.  To help me get geared up for the challenge, I have found this book very helpful:

(via Amazon)

While I wouldn’t say there is anything all that new to learn from this book, I do like the positive energy it exudes.  Lois Joy Johnson has some great advice on sprucing things up…and she doesn’t mean we have to go shopping for new things (unless necessary).  The biggest tips I am taking to heart are investing in more long tanks (for layering) and shape wear.  I borrowed my copy from the library but if you decide to buy it, Amazon’s price is a good deal on this book.  It is a big book and would be a good resource for your style library.

While waiting for Spring to blossom, I have bought a few accessories (all on Ebay–because I love to buy used first!) to add my own “blooms” to my clothes.  Before I share what I have bought, let me confess to a slight transgression.

A long time ago I read in a financial planning book that if you really want something and save the money for it, it can be a fun, guilt-free purchase…no matter its cost…because it has not been purchased on credit.   I decided to save money for a new camera.  I researched many brands/types and decided to save for one of the new compact camera system/mirror-less ones.  They can perform as well as digital SLRs but are smaller and thus easier to tote around and use.  I saved for a few months, found the one I wanted, bought it, got it, took about 10 photos and it died.  No lie.  Back the camera went and in my post-camera saving/buying depression, I sort of went browsing on Ebay where I found a watch, scarf and handbag—in that order.  So instead of  a new camera, I used my hard-saved dollars for my Spring accessories.

Yes, I am fully aware I need therapy.  But why not look cute while mental?

I am a Seiko fan so this is the watch I bought:

seiko

Now I have a dressy and casual Seiko watch.  You may remember in this post about finding my lovely vintage Gruen watch.  I don’t wear it…I love it but it just isn’t practical for moi.  Sad, huh?  I will be selling it in the near future.

Then I found this gorgeous Hermes scarf.  I put in my maximum bid, fully expecting not to win it…but I did:

001

I have already worn it a few times.  It has great colors and design…I am in awe of its beauty.  And the art deco time period?  Love!

And then the “new to me” handbag:

(this one is listed on Ebay)

A few months ago I sold the red, vintage Coach handbag that I had.  I have no idea why…rash moment of minimizing probably.  I love having a red handbag.  Since then, so many times I have gotten dressed and thought, “Hmmm…too bad I don’t have a RED bag to go with this outfit–moron!”  I saw this particular bag being carried by a woman (who has fabulous classic style) and asked which “model” it was.  Once found in red, it was a done deal.

So now I am broke again.  I have restarted my camera fund (currently at $68–a long way to go) but I don’t regret my choices.  I know I will get years of use out of each thing I have bought…unlike the seconds of use I got out of the original camera purchase.  Hmmmph!

And in other encouraging news…my hair is getting long.  I didn’t really think it was until I straightened it the other day.  LOOK!!!:

001

Shocker!  There is so much curl in my hair that it is hard to tell when it is getting length.  Curly hair tends to grow out instead of down.  And some of my curls get more corkscrew-y as the hair grows.

So, spill it!  Any planned Spring purchases for your wardrobe this year?  Is it possible to exist without a red handbag in one’s wardrobe? ; )

~~Heather~~

36 thoughts on “chic ~~ wardrobe (and hair) wake-up

  1. Love your new hair-wake up, you look 10 years younger – truly, so now are you drop dead gorgeous. Your watch is beautiful. Used Seiko for many years – great watch … and the scarfs am I very envy over. Great start of the spring.
    I have done my shopping … a lovely white jeans skirt with rhinestones and a striped jumper, don’t need anything else for this season – have a walk in closet full … and I bought olive green ballerina shoes on sale when I was up in Gothenburg, for $16 – silk and suede .. have to do a post.

    Like

    • Oh my goodness…you are way too kind about the hair. Honestly, I think it makes me look older so maybe it is just a good photo (LOL…good photo on a dirty mirror…again!).

      Yes, you should do a post on your new items. I would love to see the white jeans with rhinestones–you sassy thing! When you use the word “jumper”, what do you mean?

      Like

      • No, you look younger in my eyes. Jumper – my Swedish again. Sorry, sweater I think is the right word. The rhinestones are just on the pockets of the skirt. Have to do a post of my spend.

        Like

  2. It seems like we all have different ways of boosting ourselves. I laughed when I read that you sent your camera back when it had died on you, but decided not to replace it, after saving up for so long to get what you wanted. I love the red bag you bought as part of the replacement. I’m really not into handbags, I have one I use for winter & another for summer.Hope it doesn’t take too long for you to save up for your camera, Your hair looks lovely in a smooth style.

    Like

    • Thank you, Barbara. The camera thing was such a let down that I didn’t know what to think or do. After ALL the research I did, it was THE camera I wanted and then when it died, I wondered if it would happen again, should I stick with this brand, do I start the whole researching all over again??? I was so bummed…thus the retail therapy for retail therapy. I am a sad little human…what can I say? ; )

      Like

  3. I love your hair, Heather! I’m totally with Viveca, you look really great!
    I think the things you save for, are a lot more fun, than the others 🙂 Wow, I have that scarf, too, although I hand washed it and the colors totally bled. But it’s still nice and I love that theme. But I know you do, too. You are a vintage car fan as well, right? Have a great day! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes! I adore vintage cars. I can think of a half-dozen I would love to own.

      Thank you for the information about the color bleeding!! I was wondering about that with this scarf. Although it is an older issue scarf, it came in the box AND does not appear to have been worn. So there is no need for me to clean it yet. However, the instructions in the box say to dry clean only. I have hand-washed my other scarves without incident but I won’t tempt fate on this one. : )

      Like

  4. Heather, I have never seen you with straight hair and I LOVE it on you. And I always admired your hair curly! You do NOT look older, you look very Alicia Florrick ( but naturally pretty, not botoxed to Hell and back). You’re so lucky. I think you did the right thing by buying those alternatives to the camera. Absolutely love that scarf. Even I, (the original woman in black) have a little red bag – so useful.

    Like

    • Well! If SK has a red bag then all women should have one! Keep that bar high, Ms. Kitten.

      I will have to Google Alicia…I have no idea who she is. Thank you for the comments!

      Like

  5. I am planning on buying one or two pairs of Taos sandals. No more flip flops! Taos makes wonderfully comfortable shoes and I am tired of buying multiple pairs of not-so-great fashion shoes. The pair of Taos’ shoes that I wore to Ireland have become a true favorite. I also plan on investing in a dress and skirt for daywear. I consigned all my work clothes after I retired and am starting over. I can’t wait for spring to arrive.

    Like

    • Starting over can be so much fun…time re-invent and create new looks. Very smart of you to consign your work clothes to get a return on your investment. I am too lazy…I usually just end of hauling stuff off to Goodwill. I am going to check out these Taos sandals. Last year I bought a pair of Naots which I adore.

      Like

  6. What??? The Good Wife is amazing. Get started on Season 1 ASAP. What kind of camera betrayed you so or do you not want to out the brand? Yes to the red handbag. My favorite mary janes were red. I miss them a lot. I like your curls but I am old school, Curly Girl. ;P

    Like

    • You have always known me curly…I think it makes a difference. I showed the picture to my Aunt and she said I didn’t look like me. It is fun for a change. It is cool being able to run a brush through my hair. : )

      I will consider watching The Good Wife. We aren’t big TV watchers around here…if I get hooked on a show it usually through Netflix.

      Like

  7. You crack me up! You’re no moron…maybe had a moron-moment? haha
    I like your replacement purchases waaay better than the camera! 😀
    I like your hair straight!! And curly!! And wavy!!

    Like

    • I like them too but I am still yearning for a new camera. The whole shopping/researching thing for the camera is overwhelming. Buying accessories is much easier. ; ) Thank you!

      Like

    • I am glad to hear “no handbags etc…” for you. It is hard to imagine a Bulldog with a pocketbook. ; ) Despite what you see in the photo, there truly is a little old lady locked up inside me…seriously. : )

      Like

  8. Your watch, scarf and handbag purchase make perfect sense to me!! Besides being great looking, they are a perfect balm to your shattered camera soul. I haven’t bought anything yet…still thinking.
    Love your hair straight!!
    I do not have a red handbag…I have a purple one that fills that need. Better with my coloring.

    Like

    • I can see you with purple…and I have fallen in love with many a purple bag (that really deep eggplant color) but have not bought one (and probably shouldn’t). I do have a burgundy one that I wear at times–that is also a great neutral. Thank you for “understanding” the detour from camera to accessories.

      Like

    • The curls are the easy way to go…wearing it straight takes much more time and work. But it was fun to do and see that my hair is making progress. You may see this “look” pop up once in awhile.

      Like

    • I wondered if this would get a comment out of you. I think I may try to wear it this way on Sunday…we shall see. Looking forward to the weekend!!

      Like

  9. Is it possible to live without a red purse? hahaha You know me better than that. If you hadn’t pushed me into buying a winter bag I’d still be carrying that summer one I bought last May.
    “Looking cute while mental” takes people longer to figure out you’re really mental. Good plan.
    You’re hair looks great but doesn’t straightening take a long time? More than 3 min. is too long for me.

    Like

    • I thought it was a good plan too. And yes, straightening takes way longer than the normal 3 minutes I like to spend on my hair too. If I had to do it every day…uuugggh!!!

      Like

  10. You definitely look cute but I’m not sure about mental! From someone who has always had straight hair I don’t understand why you’d want to erase the curls … I’d kill for curls. But you look good! What kind of camera did you buy? I have a friend who is thinking of investing in one of those mirrorless ones. Love your new purchases!

    Like

    • Trust me on the mental part! As for the hair, I guess we always want what we don’t have. I would love to have silky, straight hair that shines and bounces. Even when I straighten my curls I don’t get that look.
      As for the mirrorless cameras, the brands that were impressive to me were Olympus and Panasonic because of their lenses options and the fact that the lenses are interchangeable between the brands. And yes, it was one of these brands that I bought–and I may buy again when I don’t feel so burned…and have the money. I think I need to ban myself from Ebay and Etsy for a while.

      Like

  11. Love the straight hair! Really like the scarf too.

    I’m sorry to hear your camera crapped out after a (barely) one time use. That’s awful!! I have to play around with my camera before my trip and figure out all the settings beforehand so that I’m not fiddling around with the camera when there’s a good photo op right in front of me! (i.e. Architectural Tour).

    Like

    • Cameras are so complicated nowadays. They come with GPS for heavens’ sake. My current camera is from 2008 and I am still learning how to use certain functions. Yes, play around with your before your trip to Chicago because I can’t wait to see your photos.

      Like

Leave a Reply

