french ~~ les miserables plus mediterranean cuisine equals one great night

Last Wednesday marked the beginning of a mini, mid-winter getaway for us.  As much as I would’ve LOVED to have flown somewhere warm and sunny, finances kept us local.  Truthfully, going into it,  I was not excited at all.  We had been sick with the flu, dealt with fleas on the dog (yes, weird for Winter but he’s OK and back on his flea/heartworm medicine–guess we can’t take a break during the Winter months anymore) AND  Rockefeller was attacked by two pit/boxer mix dogs while we were walking just 2 days before our planned getaway (and no, he was not seriously hurt but he did suffer a bite on his back leg and it was one of the scariest moments of my life.  The vet gave him an anti-bacterial injection and some ointment.  And, may I add, my dog did not react viciously at all…he was simply trying to get away from the big, bad dogs).  Needless to say, my mood was not geared toward having fun.  Frankly, January was “miserable”.

I mentioned here that we have had tickets to see the 25th Anniversary of the Broadway Musical “Les Miserables“.  The Kiddos had given us a gift certificate for Miller Auditorium for our anniversary last year.  I have been eagerly anticipating seeing the musical for months–well, at least until January hit.  This 25th Anniversary brought in new set changes and enhancements to the play.  We loved it!  We have seen “Les Miserables” before (a few times) and this was one of the best performances we have seen.  All the lead singers were just phenomenal.  And yes, I would have to say I enjoyed it more than the movie version.  However, I would highly recommend the movie version to anyone who has not seen the play because one gets a better sense of the story line and the details really lend to understanding what is going on.

Here I am, dressed in JJill Wearever, vintage scarf and handbag, MaiTai cuff bracelet and scarf ring:

001

Of course having an evening out to the theater must include dinner.  We chose to go to Zooroona’s, a Mediterranean Grill.    Maybe I have mentioned this previously, but Mediterranean/Middle Eastern food is my absolute favorite.  I have been to Zooroona’s before with a girlfriend but never with Brett.  And trust me, I will not wait two years again to enjoy it.  We opted for the full on experience while we were there which meant we ate on the floor.

025

Ummm…eating on the floor is difficult. I was happy that I had chosen to wear pants and not a skirt to the play.    Either we are just tall enough or not in shape enough to not feel overly comfortable while perched on our pillows.  But all discomfort was soon forgotten once the food started rolling in.  DELICIOUS!

This was just “Day 1” of our mini-vacay.  I have more to share in future posts about where we stayed a couple of nights and a few things we did while “vacationing”.  Happily, I can say I truly had fun despite going into the experience with some very heightened negative emotions.

I am linking up with Adrienne and Jill for “How I Wear…My Date Night Outfit”.  Until another day….

~~Heather~~

44 thoughts on “french ~~ les miserables plus mediterranean cuisine equals one great night

  1. Nice outfit, I love your scarf and your bag. I hope to see “Les Miserables” and follow your recommendation soon. Eat sitting on the floor is not what I like, but I always wear trousers. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, I hope you do see “Les Mis”, whether it is the movie version or theater….it is a great show. And hurrah for trousers! : )

      Like

  2. Sad to hear about Rockerfeller – I hope he are doing well now – the thing is that he will never forget that has been attacked and that may effect him how he will behave against other dogs, they never forget. So so sad news. Poor little lovely Rockerfeller. Glad you got your time out too – and everybody say the movie is just great – so it has to be a must for me too. Restaurant looks lovely (visit their website) and if the food was great – even better.

    Like

    • You are right about them not forgetting…similar “attacks” have happened to him while on leash when meeting up with other people with their dogs. Other owners have asked if it is OK for our dogs to “meet”. It has happened at three times where the other dog will lunge, growl, snap at Rockefeller. Now, at times, when Rockefeller sees similar looking dogs, he starts going beserk. We now have a “No thank you” policy for these future meet and greets.

      Like

  3. You look lovely, Heather, and I really like that bag. I also love that style of food,because you get lots of little dishes and the chance to try a variety of things. I know what you mean about sitting on the floor, cushioned or not! Poor little Rockefeller, I’m always worried about nasty dogs attacking my little pup. So glad he is OK. Did you give the owners a piece of your mind?

    Like

    • I love that bag too. It is incredibly roomy for a vintage pocketbook.

      I ordered a vegetarian sampler for dinner–it was so, so good. Thank you for your concern about Rockefeller. We love our little guys, don’t we?

      Like

  4. You look lovely, as usual! Can’t imagine I would enjoy eating on the floor, but the food sounds wonderful. I’m so sad to hear about Rockefeller’s bad experience. I don’t suppose there was any way to hold the bad dogs’ owners to account. I don’t know how it all works here, but vicious dogs have one, perhaps two chances; strike two and they are put down. I worry less about dogs here, but there are still plenty of very stupid people who own dogs. I read Les Mis years ago and given that Quartet left me gutted (in spite of a happy ending), I don’t think I have the emotional strength to get through the film or play! Look forward to hearing more about your mini-vac!

    Like

    • I have been contemplating trying to read the novel…but it is so long and yes, such heavy material. I am still deciding whether or not to call animal control–I was going to do it today but ran out of time this afternoon (thanks to an unplanned 2 hour nap–holy moly).

      Like

    • You know, I try really hard not to be breed prejudiced but then something like this happens which was so unprovoked. And Rockefeller seems to be doing just fine. He is currently whining as he carries his bed and baby around trying to find a good place to put them.

      Like

  5. You obviously needed these mini vacation Heather ! And one can tell from your smile your enjoyed them. Good for you! How exotic to have dinner on the floor…. even if not very comfortable.
    I love your scarf and the way you played a black and red symphony around it. Very nice!
    Keep well dear. Stay away from viruses and please give Rockefeller a tremendous smooch for me. Poor sweet baby….this dog attack must have been the scariest experience for all of you…
    xo
    Anne Touraine (Palying with Scarves)

    Like

    • Red was a new color punch for my wardrobe this winter. When I purged my closet down to the core colors of black, grey, navy and dark brown, I thought red would be nice to wear with any of them. Oh, and getting a compliment on a scarf from the queen of scarf wearing herself, is a true honor. : ) Thank you for the well wishes.

      Like

  6. Not good to hear about the dog, but it all seems to have turned out alright.. I carry a small can of pepper spray with me when walking the dogs.. mine a small and not partial to being eaten by the bigger dogs… I find any aggression can be stop with the shortest of sprays and that not even on the aggressor, but merely above him…
    The dining out sounds great and I can’t wait to read more.. but I must say, you do look smartly dressed…

    Like

    • Bulldog, pepper spray is on my “to buy” list. My husband wants me to carry it with me now that this has happened. I do fear the possibility of spraying it backwards in a crisis. Knowing my misfortune, I would probably spray it on myself and the mean, vicious dog will think I am simply seasoning myself for him. ; )

      Like

      • Fortunately the small ones I bought you can’t set them off in a backward direction… but don’t do what I did once, spray at eye level directly into a strong wind… not very clever…

        Like

  7. Poor doggie, I hope Rockefeller is doing ok and what a good boy for not biting back. Sorry you won’t be getting away, but how nice that you saw Les Mis again. I saw it years ago in Toronto and cried, it was so touching and well-done. BTW, I need a close-up of your amazing velvet handbag – it is gorg! xo

    Like

    • Ohmygoodness. That show makes me cry every single time. When I first saw the previews for the film I bawled. Such a human and touching story.

      Like

  8. I am sorry to hear about Rockefeller, that is awful. Pitbulls, even in a mix, really scare me, and I do not understand why people own them. They just seem vicious right down to their DNA. I don’t blame the dog but why take the chance of having that kind of animal in your house?

    On a positive note, that bag is divine, you always have the best vintage bags! Thank you for joining Adrienne and me for the Date Night roundup. You look wonderful as usual and it was so fun to include you. XO, Jill

    Like

    • Thank you for hosting and popping in today.

      As for my vintage bags…most of them I have found on Ebay or Etsy. This particular one was found on Etsy super cheap and it is a beauty. I love Roberta di Camerino bags but even vintage can be pricey. This looked so much like her style that I couldn’t pass it up.

      Like

  9. Poor you! And poor Rockefeller. My dogs all got fleas this winter too. My indoor house cat decided he wanted to frolic outside for a couple of days and while he was out galavanting around, he picked up a flea circus and brought it home to us. Isn’t that nice of him?
    We are still dealing with their eradication. It’s not cheap and I hate putting chemicals on my dogs but what else can we do?
    Terrible about that dog attack. Were they dogs from your neighborhood that got loose?

    On a lighter note, you look lovely on your date. I adore that handbag….really fetching.
    Thank you for participating in this month’s HIWM.

    Sometimes when we go into something with low or no expectations, we can be pleasantly surprised by the outcome! Glad you two got some time away from everything.
    xo, A

    Like

    • Getting away was good timing. And the flea thing was a shocker. He has never had them before and we usually keep him off his heartworm/flea meds from November to March. But the vet said it had been too mild around here (not anymore). AND, we have had a flurry of squirrel activity in our yard this year…like way more than normal…so that is how/where I think he picked them up.

      Like

  10. Poor Rocky! I hope he’s OK. You need to come eat Indian food with us here. We have it nearly every Sunday. My girl M would rather eat Mid Eastern food than anything else. She’s a Red Pepper Hummus Junkie =) Oh she’s also enthralled with Le Mis. You should hear that girl sing “On My Own”. Wish we could have adventures with you!

    Like

    • Yes adventures together would be so nice. There is a store here in town that offers all different kinds of hummus flavors. Now that we are vegan, hummus is our new cheese. But my absolute favorite hummus is what is served in these true Mediterranean restaurants–creamy, garlicky hummus. YUM!!!

      Like

  11. January certainly wasn’t a good month in your neighborhood. A short break can be just as nice as a long trip. I think under the circumstances, you definitely needed a nice outing. Hope Rockefeller is doing well now.

    Like

    • Yes, our little get away was timely indeed. And we had such a good time that I think it did body and soul a bit of good. Rockefeller is doing great, thank you!

      Like

    • It was a good one. It wasn’t Paris but it was all right. BUT it did have some French flair to it…you will read more later. : )

      Like

  12. Heather,
    I’m sorry to hear Rock was attacked. I’m very relieved that his injuries weren’t serious. They really could have been, because he is so small comported to that type of dog…and there were two!
    The dresser you are standing next to is really beautiful!
    Sounds like you had a wonderful dinner.
    There is an incredible Mediterranean restaurant in Valparaiso, IN call Meditrina…it is the very best food I’ve ever tasted in my life. Its a tiny little place, much beloved by patrons. When you visit your mom (I think you said its your mom who lives in this general direction) it would be so worth a trip to eat there. Great shopping area too, if you know where to look.

    Like

    • Thank you for the tip on Valparaiso. I will have to check to see how far that is from my parents…sounds like a place worth checking out. That dresser was huge…I look like a munchkin next to it. It was in the B&B we stayed in. More on that later.

      Like

    • I know, right?? Is this the Chinese Year of the Dog or something and I didn’t get the memo? His surgery, the fleas and now an attack. And I wonder why we couldn’t afford to go anywhere exotic for vacation. ; ) He’s worth it.

      Like

  13. Glad you enjoyed the play; I was wondering. Peter went to see the movie tonight. I had a meeting in Kazoo. I’m looking forward to hearing about the rest of your “vacay.”

    Like

    • Ask Peter if he knows how many teeth Anne Hathaway has. Teehee. That was my biggest gripe about the movie version…too many extreme, long close-ups.

      Like

  14. What a horrible experience for you and Rockefeller – I reckon the other dogs were jealous of how gorgeous he is!! Seriously though I don’t understand why people want to keep the more aggressive breeds, other than as proper guard dogs. Hugs to you both. Your mini vacation sounds wonderful, I could do with one.

    Like

    • I suspected some major jealousy as well but what a reaction. Devil dogs. I hope you can get some time away soon! I know that you have been working a lot…at least from what you have mentioned. Maybe it has slowed a little now??

      Like

  15. Sometimes the mini vacations are almost nicer- less stress getting somewhere and worrying about the money you are spending. Good decision.
    It’s a shame about the dog attack. Pit bulls can honestly be the sweetest but damn those owners who aren’t responsible and keep perpetuating their bad reputations. Bottom line, I’m sorry for the trauma caused to the pooch and his loved ones.
    xo wendy

    Like

  16. Pingback: vintage french ~~ castle in the sky | vintage french chic

  17. Pingback: french chic ~~ victor hugo on my chest | vintage french chic

Leave a Reply

