french ~~ the parisian chic top

 

OK, so even though I am currently living by the “thrift first” rule in buying, at the beginning of Fall I did buy a couple of new things to freshen my wardrobe.  While I would love to find used tops for all my needs, I am very picky about my tops due to my size/shape–very picky.  Which makes it difficult to find exactly what I want/need when shopping in consignment or thrift stores.  Yet, I know there are certain stores online that regularly carry the types of tops I like (JJill, Soft Surroundings, Talbots–to name a few).  I DO NOT like paying full price, even for new, so I usually buy when there is a sale or with a coupon.  However, I think I paid full price for this one because as soon as I saw it, I fell in love.

The Soft Surroundings Parisian Chic top:

 I have paired it with thrifted earrings and calf hair leopard shoes, vintage Patricia Smith bag and JJill Wearever vest and skirt.  Notice the lace, ruffled detail on the cuffs:

The earrings are clip-ons.  And by the end of the evening, they felt like it:

I really love this top and can wear it with so many things.  I am trying to be very good and NOT buy it in black too.

Enjoy your Monday and be chic!

~~Heather~~

45 thoughts on “french ~~ the parisian chic top

  1. You look great! I would definitely buy it in black especially if you know it will go with the rest of your wardrobe – practical and smart. 😉

    I love the earrings! Is there a way to convert clip-ons to pierced? The other day, I was “thrifting” and came across a box full of vintage earrings – all clip-ons. I fell in love with them but did not buy because they are painful to wear. I thought about using them to clip on my shoes or belts but decided not to get them.

    Like

    • Yes, I think I could remove the clip and glue on posts! Thank you for the suggestion.

      I am pretending that I didn’t read the first part of your comment. ; )

      Like

  2. You look so very, very good! I like your top and I bet you are tempted to get it in another color… 😉 Oh, well, Christmas is coming, so maybe you could ask for it as a gift? Your handbag is really cool! Have a good week! 🙂

    Like

  3. Heather Lovely outfit. The detail of the ruffles on the fist is gorgeous. The top / vest has a very nice cutting, and this is a fabulous skirt. The bag and earrings are fantastic, really your style. A beautiful proposal.

    Like

    • Merci, merci. This is definitely the type of outfit I feel comfortable in. And, as you know, I love my vintage accessories! Thank you for stopping by. : )

      Like

    • You probably could with some heels, don’t you think? I love longer skirts for their comfort and versatility. I have similar ones in grey and navy. They are all worn often.

      Like

  4. You look fabulous in that ensemble. My first thought was how tall you looked, only to find out you are tall. Wow – 5’9″? To my lowly little 5’2″, you’re a giant. 😉

    Like

    • Too funny…I never thought about how my height was perceived through photos. I can see how it would be hard to gauge without a reference. Thank you for popping in, ma petite amie.

      Like

    • The first time I watched it I was practically wailing. When I watched it a second time I behave a little better. I really do love that movie. My CD soundtrack came in on Friday…I did listen to it for the first time with a glass of wine and the fireplace going. It is lovely.

      Like

  5. That is a gorgeous little top – you must get it in black as well, those sleeves! I love your shoes, so saucy. In fact the whole outfit looks fantastic. I always said you were model material, and now we find out you’ve got the height as well. Really lovely, Heather.

    Like

    • If I do end up buying it in black I will be blaming it on peer pressure when I have to justify another package arriving on my doorstep to my husband. He is patient and tolerant…but every man has his limits.

      Model material? Don’t think so…unless you are referring to my JCPenney modeling days. LOL!

      Like

    • Thank you! One really can’t go wrong with black…so much can be mixed up with it. PLUS it slenderizes–this may not be a concern for all but it is for moi!

      Like

  6. Oh, I’m so happy to see an outfit post!
    Every now and then, I think its a good idea and a refreshing treat to buy something ‘new-new’ instead of ‘new-to-me” new. Thrifting is my first stop, but I’m not opposed to purchasing something special and wonderful if it is high quality, enduring and versatile. You deserve it. It looks great on you too.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lisa. I am not sure how high the quality or enduring this top will be but I echo your sentiment. I really do want to buy “new to me” on principle alone but you are right, not all needs can be met that way. I am glad I got this one new.

      Like

  7. I love how you have the whole “foot model” thing going on so the shoes can be appreciated.
    I’m not a lace wearin’ kinda gal as I’m sure you’ve noticed but that top looks great on you. Money well spent.

    Like

    • You like that foot model thing? A friend of mine showed me how to do it during the wedding photos. It can get a bit wobbly at times. ; ) I am not a huge lace wearing person either but once in awhile I will be drawn to something like this. I get a catalog from Victorian Trading Co. and they have some socks that are lace embellished that I have always been tempted to buy.

      Like

  8. Love that feminine an flattering top on you! I may have to get one of those myself.
    I am selective about what I will buy thrifted and what I will buy new, too. It’s all about fit and about the chances of finding that particular thing at a thrift or consignment shop. My biggest problem is always pants. I need length!
    Really like that bag and your shoes…great look all around!
    xo

    Like

    • I could see you in this. It is pretty comfortable. It would look pretty under your oatmeal sweater. Thank you for stopping in…always love it when you come around. : ) xo

      Like

    • Kelly, you could so easily make this top. You should try it out. I am thinking about the black but I am going to wait for a sale. : )

      Like

    • Thank you, Karen. Welcome back to the States. I was reading your post earlier…just haven’t made a comment yet. Hope you are all rested and restored from your European adventure! : )

      Like

  9. Pingback: french chic ~~ victor hugo on my chest | vintage french chic

Leave a Reply

