photography ~~ everyday life (weekly photo challenge)

Cell phones are everywhere.  Seemingly, everyone owns one and, evidently,  they can’t be parted from it for any reason under the sun.  Case in point, when at the beach a couple of weeks ago, I saw scantily clad bikini tweens/teens with their iPhones/androids affixed to them by the string of their bikini bottoms.  Walking the beach with a phone tucked in a string.  Wow.  What kind of tan line does that leave?

I took this photo when we were last at the Art Institute of Chicago.

The cell phone is definitely part of our everyday life.

Enjoy the weekend!

~~Heather~~

25 thoughts on “photography ~~ everyday life (weekly photo challenge)

  1. I am surprised by the people who believe communication with whomever is more important than the immediate incredible surroundings like art museums, national monuments, CHURCH!, dinner with a friend, etc. But I also think we’ve lost the ability to have down time, to be “bored” without verbose stimulus.

    Remember laying in the grass and looking at the clouds, or just looking out the window of a car and thinking about life? Do people even do this anymore? It’s so fundamental to the creative process.

    Like

  2. Great photo at the art institute! What kind of camera and editing software are you using? I want to do more photography and am looking to create a Christmas gift list around that hobby perhaps.

    Like

    • Juhli, I just use a Canon Powershot A720 IS and I don’t edit my photos except for an occasional crop. I am lusting over owning a digital SLR but I have no idea where to start with one of those…or what brand, etc. I tend to favor Nikons but I have been super impressed with my Canon’s photo quality and other photos I have seen taken with digital SLR Canons. Wish I could be more helpful.

      Like

      • Thanks for the info. I compared your camera to the one I have and clearly the main difference is photographer ability! That does help me know what to work on.

        Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Everyday Life – Making Groceries | Humbled Pie

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Everyday Life – Making Groceries | Humbled Pie

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Everyday Life Enjoying Nature Walk… « patriciaddrury

  6. I “get” the cell/phone texting thing. Even if I didn’t, it wouldn’t matter. They’re here to stay and so is the irresponsible behavior that goes along with them.
    Mine is hardly ever on. It’s more of a 911 thing for me . . . or to call ahead for a pizza but NEVER WHEN I’M DRIVING.
    Being sensitive to one’s surroundings is disappearing I’m sad to say.
    I was sitting in a doctor’s office waiting room and the man next to me was chatting/grunting with someone about the upcoming softball game that night – loudly. It made me see red. It was like fingernails on a chalkboard. Why would anyone think I’d be entertained by listening to their conversation.
    Lack of sensitivity, I tell ya.
    Can you tell it’s a sore subject with me?

    Like

    • I am completely tired of the lack of social graces when it comes to cell phone use. And I am super tired of seeing young people’s heads drooped over cell phones, texting away (creating who knows what kinds of deformities of their hands and wrists, neck problems, etc for their happy futures). When is the last time you saw a kid reading a book in public?

      Like

  7. Pingback: The Weekly Challenge: Everyday Life – Elderly Advice « What's (in) the picture?

  8. I’m just back from holiday and I don’t even look at my phone/internet while I’m there – it’s hard though! For some reason it still infuriates me when I see people glued to their phones like their life depends on it.

    Like

    • Welcome back! Hope you had a great holiday. I just mentioned in a comment recently that I was wondering where you had been. Cupcake was gone forever, then you…now I feel like my little blogging world is back together again. ; )

      Like

  9. I have a mobile phone but rarely use it, only for texting occasionally. I think it is quite sad that people seem unable to just be alone with themselves and their surroundings, it is like they are scared of their own company.
    I know that they are here to stay and they can be of great use eg in an emergency, but I don’t want to hear other people talking, usually loudly, about what they’ve just done or what time they’ll be home.

    Like

    • It is unnerving isn’t it? And the whole cell phone phenom has gotten quite out of hand. They are great for some things but mostly I see them as a nuisance.

      Like

  10. Pingback: The Weekly Challenge: Everyday Life part 2 – Car Boot Sale In Normandy « What's (in) the picture?

  11. Beautiful picture. I agree, the cell-phone/computer is taking up too much time in our lives. I try to cut back. Not always easy.- I have been to a birthday party not long ago were most of the guests were constantly on their iPhones on Facebook – writing each other. I was so annoyed I was just about to leave and they couldn’t understand my annoyance, thought I was a bit crazy. Well, I won’t be having dinner with this group anymore!

    Like

  12. I spent 20 years of my career being ‘on call’. First with pagers (race to find a phone!), then with mobile phones. We youngsters proudly sported our bleeps, feeling really important. I watched all the big bosses show how size matters (the smaller your phone, the more important you were). Gradually the population around me seems more hunched over, more tuned out, less aware. The number of times I’ve had to side step someone walking along looking at their phone makes me wish I was big enough to withstand a collision. I would love to snap photos of drivers chatting away, weaving along erratically; do you think the police would take any notice? Being on call for so many years and the memories of having my dinner, a movie, my haircut, my sleep all interrupted make me very grateful to be ‘unavailable’. I switch my phone on to make a call, or when arranged to have it on. Otherwise I enjoy observing the world around me, reading a book, silence – when not interrupted by others’ devices. Strange to see how much technology shapes human behavior. Even as I was about to type that I don’t want to spend my life staring at a small screen, I realised I spend quite a bit of time staring at a medium-sized one!

    Like

  13. Just 10 years ago, cellphones are not affordable for most person. Now, they are a part of almost everyone’s everyday life. Nice picture. The b/w made it feel mystical and timeless.

    Oh yeah, please check my post too. I am sharing the picture of batik : Indonesia National and Traditional Clothing. Hope you enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

