chic ~~ new on my nookshelf

Just wanted to pass along a couple of titles I recently got my mitts on.  First, this one:

How to Look Expensive: A Beauty Editor's Secrets to Getting Gorgeous without Breaking the Bank

via amazon

I read this in one day and LOVED it.  I wasn’t sure about buying it because of the title…sounded a little campy to me.  But after reading reviews, I decided to try it.  So glad I did!  Andrea Pomerantz Lustig does a bang up job of putting together a concise, encyclopedia of knowledge of the beauty world.  She shares insider tips on products, skin care, hair care, the where tos and how tos of so many things.  She also helps you decide what is “worth it” to splurge on (should you desire) or how to save your money but still look like a million bucks.  And not a million bucks a la “Real Housewives…” .  She concentrates on developing true style…the “je ne sais quoi” of the confident, understated woman.  This book coupled with my visits to beautypedia.com are all the references I need to make informed choices.

Towards the end of the book she talks about her “Luxe Wardrobe Rules”.  I am happy to report that of the 10 listed, I am doing eight of them ( thanks to my French chic reading and helpful blogs like The Vivienne Files).  The two I seriously need to work on are 1) making friends with a tailor (nothing says polished better than clothes that fit well) and 2) find a button down white shirt (she loves all white shirts, not just button downs) that works for me (meaning my body type) and wear v-neck white tees more often.

OK.  So that was the fun book.  The book I am currently reading (and silently cursing that I can’t find the time to finish this week) is this:

Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion

via amazon

I first read about this book on Terri’s blog.***  I was immediately interested in the subject because truthfully,  I really don’t know how my clothes are made, where they are made or, more importantly, at what “costs”.  My head has been in the proverbial sand…yes, I know there are sweatshops but I don’t want to know about them; yes, I know the decisions I make about what I buy can contribute to some very serious global problems but I don’t want to know about them.  Get what I mean?  So, while this book is a bit wordy at times and lags here and there, I am finding the history of the garment making industry very interesting.   I am less than half way through, so the final verdict is still out.   But I need to get it finished because there is yet another waiting in the wings:

I Want to Be Her!: How Friends & Strangers Helped Shape My Style

via amazon

Oh my.  So many books, so little time.

~~Heather~~

***HUGE AMENDMENT:  I FIRST read about this book at Boomer Girl’s Guide a few weeks ago but since I have OBVIOUS short-term memory issues, I forgot about it (although I even told Juhli I was going to “check it out” in a comment).  Wow.  Funny though (since I am in the mode of telling on myself), when I was writing this post earlier this morning I was thinking that I had seen information about it somewhere else too.  As soon as Juhli commented…ding, ding, ding, ding.

25 thoughts on “chic ~~ new on my nookshelf

  1. Great post .. interesting books. Love my shoes and fashion, but I don’t know if I would by books about it. Fashion is fashion .. it comes and it goes and it comes back. To look million dollars, doesn’t come cheap neither .. even if not going with the high fashion designer cloths. Have mix feelings – I think we have to … feel the fashion we like and it’s not that important if we don’t look expensive … was in the world in the early 70’s and I couldn’t afford it through a “boyfriend”, so I have to start sawing my designer clothing with help of Vouge Pattern – and it worked wonders. but it wasn’t really me.

    Like

    • Thanks. You do have some great accessories. The author makes the point in the book (and I have read it many times before), by splurging more on accessories, one can achieve a very chic, stylish look. She “gets” that not all of us can afford to buy everything high end or designer (she admits that she doesn’t even do this). But great accessories will carry you a long way!

      Like

      • You are always well dressed and chic … and you feel comfortable in what you’re wearing … witch are so important. I agree with you and the author that it better to spend money on great handbags, shoes and jeweler. So maybe I have to take a look again on those books. As I said before – you’re a such a beautiful woman.

        Like

  2. These sound wonderful! I really like it when you do book/blog reviews about clothing–I am terrible in this area! I subscribed to the Vivienne Files on your recommendation and love it. For so many years I’ve focused on my 5 kids and I look like it!! 🙂 I’m going to see if I can locate these books to help me find ‘me’ again. 🙂

    Like

    • Puhleeze! You look great…especially after raising FIVE kids. You are not going to have to look to hard to find yourself. I envy your sewing skills…if we lived closer I swear I would take lessons from you. With that type of skill, you can look like a million bucks all. the. time.

      Like

      • You are so funny Heather! I always sew for my kids. When my sister was visiting she said, “Why don’t you take a week or two and sew for yourself?” What!!?? I thought, you know, she is right. I need to do that. Anyways…sewing lessons are ‘on the house’ if you are ever in Gaylord. 🙂

        Like

  3. I found “Overdressed” very interesting and depressing – especially the current push for “fast fashion” that is disposable. I see it however in the plastic type belts that are included with skirts or pants and lots of other things about how poorly made clothing is today. I haven’t read that others but thanks for the recommendations.

    Like

    • Yes…thank you…you also talked about that book and I read it on your blog first. I made an amendment to the facts in my post. Well, you and Terri are savvy women so I am not surprised you both posted about it.

      Like

  4. I have just gone and ordered myself the first one, the illustrations look lovely and of course, I trust your judgment! There’s nothing I like more than a great read ( with a sneaky little cocktail in my paw)

    Like

    • Oh my word…the pressure!!! You trust my judgement that much? I am flattered. But maybe you should have a couple of cocktails (or a few) as you read it…that way if you hate it, you might not remember who recommended it.

      Like

    • Weirdly enough, I bought the last one at the same time as the others. It is available on Amazon in eBook form but has yet to be “released” on BN.com. I will have it on Sept 15. I will let you know how it is…unless you beat me to it. ; )

      Like

  5. You know, that Overdressed book changes everything if taken to heart. I am tempted to buy new things sometimes, and I check to see where it is made and it is ALWAYS China. We have to pay more if we don’t want to contribute to the mess, but our money is going in so many directions as it is. The cycle continues and we shake our heads thinking we can’t possibly make a difference. But truthfully, we can’t turn back now. It is too late. We are in the “cheap” way too deep.

    Like

    • So well put, Rachel. Where do we draw lines? Like you, I love and prefer buying vintage or used, so that is one small way to jump the cycle. But you are right, as soon as I need to buy something new, I know there is a 95% chance of it being made somewhere else. What to do, what to do?

      Like

  6. I just clicked over and bought the first one. They look like a lot of fun.
    I’m plowing through “Deluxe-How Luxury Lost It’s Luster” and finding it pretty interesting. Thanks for sharing your reading. I love books.

    Like

  7. Pingback: vintage chic ~~ winter coats | vintage french chic

  8. Pingback: french chic ~~ c’est la vie | vintage french chic

Leave a Reply

